A Personal Mission

“Spirituality is not to be learned by flight from the world, or by running away from things, or by turning solitary and going apart from the world. Rather, we must learn an inner solitude wherever or with whomsoever, we may be. We must learn to penetrate things and find God there.” ― Meister Eckhart

 

In recent weeks, amidst melodrama and domestic trifles, I learned something so simple yet too important. Everything I am looking for

Everything I am looking for is within.

I honestly thought to move away from what I knew and starting again (in a sense) would suspend my overly nourished fear and sense of shame. Fortunately, I was wrong about everything. My friends are still ever-present; it took time but they reached out. My coworkers and new allies see the good in me I thought long dead.

The funniest fact (to me) is where realization came from… Kung Fu Panda 2.

Smh… lol… I know.

If you have seen it, Po is prompted by his master to seek inner peace in order to advance his training (and to ultimately better himself). What he doesn’t know is the enemy who awaits him is responsible for the greatest tragedy of his life; a prophecy unfolds and no matter how much adversity the protagonist faces, he never stops believing in himself or a positive outcome.

Anyway, this made me aware of my own struggles and how a change in attitude and approach could transform that. I feel as though I have been clogged up spiritually like my insides have dirt and grime in each and every crevice.  After years of settling, I think I’m done.

Before and since I’ve been on a personal mission, one which seems like it has gone on past the five requisite seasons. Despite adversity, I cannot be thankful enough for that next breath. I may not know what to exactly do with them, but it doesn’t mean I don’t acknowledge their value. Sometimes the light is so bright not even cynicism can darken life’s doors…

Hopefully, a little writing, music, and meditation are steps in the right direction.

Bye for now, KS.

Leave a Reply

