Past is Prologue

“One day, in retrospect, the years of struggle will strike you as the most beautiful.” – Sigmund Freud

My mind has not been this conflicted in ages. I put in my two weeks almost three weeks ago, for the right reasons. Now, I feel, my only resort is the elephant in the room: my potential.

The road I was on some four years prior has become lost to me. I was collaborating on a comic book series, tutoring/assisting teachers at the college level, going to school, and around like-minded individuals. I have to find that road again.

I have to.

I am between jobs and living down the street from where I went to high school. I sense the irony but also foreboding.

Ever since I was a child, I have wanted to help others. And I can’t say I haven’t had the chance…

In an effort not to repeat myself (anymore than I already have), I’m on a mission to resolve things. Pure and simple.

Plus, I have sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much time on my hands. It isn’t even funny.

The three female pillars of my life take roles in this transitional play: Grandma needs my assistance for the next month due to her broken-in-two-places-ankle, Mom may provide steppingstones to a new path, and my sister is making her own way, without me, and I can just be her brother again (which is freeing).

To type anything else would lead to a frivolous rant so I won’t.

Bye for now, KS.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

