First Step on a Spiral Staircase

“There are two primary choices in life: to accept conditions as they exist or accept the responsibility for changing them.” – Denis Waitley

I don’t really talk about myself a lot, mainly what’s actually going on. How I feel on certain things is very personal, somewhat private to me. The current decision I faced this week changes the scope: I put in my two weeks.

While this may mean nothing to you, it is a seismic shift for my world. I spent the last two years working behind the scenes in a grocery store (which I had no problem with). It took me out of the doldrums of unemployment and into the active workforce again.

Yay, me.

Anyhow, my current employer became verbally abusive and made my work environment oppressive. Yes, oppressive. It is NOT an exaggeration. How I endured this long…I am not sure.

So after breaking my right foot, on the job btw, I was ordered to push even harder. Luckily, I’m a quick healer. In a boot for over a month, no light duty in sight. I could sue I know.

Anyways, as the expectations towards inspections, walkthroughs, and representative visits grew, my grit diminished. Eff it. Imma do what I want. And it is not this…

Writing, teaching, and the Bohemian I subconsciously vie to be CANNOT BE A WHISPER ANY MORE.  I have never gotten the bigger picture, not until now.

I know. I know. Judge all you want.

I liken myself to Rip Van Winkle for a very good reason: I daydream as coping mechanism. I opt for distraction in times of trouble.

That’s me in a nutshell.

Plan B is in the works.

I may finally see the big picture. In regards to myself and my future, I am realizing my role in deciding the outcome. I am not going to sit in fear of it. It has been long enough. Sometimes you have to reward others’ faith; in turn, you are obligated to reward your own and who you really are.

Oh and…it’s the weekend!

Bye for now, KS.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

