Too Many Notebooks

“Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

As you are well aware, it is Turkey Day a.k.a. Thanksgiving.

Today is traditionally one of counting your blessings, good food, quality time with family, and great tidings for all.

At least it was when I first generated the thought to write this…

A week later, I am in a similar, if not offbeat, mindset. It may simply be the leftovers talking or the fact that work is one of the levels of Hell. Don’t quote me on that last line.

Anyway, it seems like the work is never evvvvvvvvvvvvvvver done.

What I mean is once you confront challenges or life turns things on their proverbial heads, time often counters in kind.

My new challenge (or an old one, depending on how you look at it) is to truly step out on my own. An act I always thought in my heart of hearts I was fully capable of. Unfortunately, I have discovered how tenacious my lackadaisical nature actually is.

Can’t say I like it…not one bit.

That said, another subconscious treasure is my habit to procrastinate. It probably stands as the most effective way to motivate me. I do my best work under the grinding pressure of a dwindling deadline; coal from diamonds.

So taking the first critical step scares the holy crap out of me…

I don’t know man. I don’t know.

You have no clue how many lists I’ve made, notebooks left incomplete, and plans derailed by neglect, embody my struggle.

It is moments like this when I wish for more wishes. Can I have some of those days back?

Can I have some of those days back?

Of course, I hold the answer…to this one as well.

To bachelorhood.

Bye for now, KS.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

