A Real Honest Place

“You don’t develop courage by being happy in your relationships every day. You develop it by surviving difficult times and challenging adversity.” – Epicurus

Mid-November, I decide to use my vacation: a week off from work with no alarm clocks, time punches, or conference calls.

You’d think I’d be on Cloud 9…

No, in fact, I am closer to water, still and in repose.

To clarify, I am walking into my mid-thirties without a narrative, a clear direction. I know who I am just not the next chapter of my story. (Then again, I guess no one does.)

With only three days left (of abject freedom), I know my job, hobbies, and personal life all are dying for change. Also, I am done brooding over split milk.

Even though I’ve ascended higher on the staircase of adulthood once more, I’m not really confident.

All of the things people told me I could do, the possible careers, seem forfeited; the truth is that my heart has not been in the right place.

Lies built like walls…and Old Man Winkle woke up.

He wasn’t happy.

Neither was I.

I’m alone too often, my family is estranged, and relationships don’t want to reside in my galaxy.

All and all, the state of affairs appears bleak but confidently I can say that the only tool I require is a new canvas.

Bye for now, KS.

Leave a Reply

