Red Shirts Don’t Kill Everybody

“Well, we all make mistakes, dear, so just put it behind you. We should regret our mistakes and learn from them, but never carry them forward into the future with us.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Avonlea

Mistakes. The thing I dwell on the most. Maybe on an effort to improve myself…but like anyone else, I have been prone to succumbing to the most negative of emotions. At 32, I realize how important is it to actually put missteps behind me. It begins now…

Echoes of the past trickle from memory and often unlikely friend connections on social media (in this case, Facebook). I’ll see a profile picture of someone I once shared positive moments with and I reflect. However, unlike the past, guilt does not consume me, utterly and completely like it used to.

Have I grown past such trivialities?

Of that I am not sure…

Suddenly I’m in a photo opp, sharply dressed, pulling on my collar with one finger. The awkwardness implied fits me to a “T“.

When I was a kid, I observed the world in wonder. As an adult, I utilize the same practice. Some outcomes have not been to my liking such as potential partners thinking the worst, when really there was no ill intent. NONE.

As I yammer, core of the issue is relationships and what comes of them. It is amazing how many people can fall into marriage, children, long-term gigs without even trying. And how fast they can tumble out…

Like a coworker stated to me: “I don’t believe in the words, “normal” or “perfect”. When it comes to people, there is no such thing.”

I share this belief.

In congress with it, I move forward, get another day older, and view the value of people in my life slightly different (from days previous).

Three statements before my exit: I like women. They like me. I can forgive.

Bye for now, KS.

 

 

Leave a Reply

