My Anime Top 10s: Difficulty of the Process

“I’ll try anything once, twice if I like it, three times to make sure.” – Mae West

Fully considering my love for Anime and feeling empowered by this blog, I thought these entries would be among the easiest to compile. Boy, was I wrong…

Yesterday, I had an interesting conversation with a good friend and fellow enthusiast and he told me that he wouldn’t even try! His reasoning was solid: basically the volume of material…and quality at that is staggering;  then the genres and which ones benefit from Anime and those that come across clearer in Manga.

For example, Mechas such as Gundam, have more flexibility and flashy visuals in the Anime format; basically the aesthetics are crucial in this genre. Manga-wise, content is key and some properties end up suffering in the transition to Anime; whether it’s the studio making cuts or hiring the wrong voice actors, these miscues happen more than I would like (Gundam Wing and Dragonball Z are glaring examples). Every fan knows this truth…

When I initiated my “vetting” process, I already knew what my qualifiers were going to be. Hell, I even made a list to get me going! But to no avail, I was ultimately stunted. The reason why: the list just keeps growing!

It went from 5 to 10 to 20 to 30…and it could escalate from there (which is kinda scary). Anyway, I still plan to forge ahead and get this together. I’ll separate it into: Series, Movies, Characters and Manga.

My qualifiers are as noted (in no particular order):

  1. I’ve watched it.
  2. I’ve watched it…MULTIPLE TIMES!
  3. Memorable Characters
  4. Solid Story
  5. Humor
  6. Development
  7. Escalation (plot, powers, etc.)
  8. Art (whether it compliments, quality, etc.)
  9. Music (Opening, Closing Themes)
  10. Dialogue (Linguistics, subbing/dubbing, grammar, emotional emphasis)
  11. Longevity
  12. Minimizes Plotholes
  13. It clicked!
  14. Respect to Manga (Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Attack on Titan)
  15. Execution (Overall)

While I think fellow Anime enthusiasts would agree with me, I don’t presume to know what their qualifiers may be. Regardless, my list IS coming soon.

Bye for now, KS.

Leave a Reply

