The First Gift Is Worth The Strain

“Life is the first gift, love is the second, and understanding, the third.” – Marge Piercy

Lately, there has been a lot of working and not much else. It’s part of the reason this blog is so important. It allows me to take my foot off the gas so to speak. With balance (in this outlet and others), I feel really good. Tired yet healthy.

I appreciate life more…much more than I did years ago. I know I harp on the past at a high frequency but it is difficult for a man with an (untrained) eidetic memory to let anything go. ANYTHING. It clings like a mustard or a blood stain. You simply cannot wash it out, no matter how many times you try…

Also, I thought this entry was going to be about Ben Affleck‘s casting as Batman (they could have done worse…believe me) or my disdain for ESPN, how their broadcasters are vapid, cynical, and think it’s perfectly alright to judge and verbally attack whoever they want, without evidence or provocation (hearsay is like a juicy worm to them and they always bite). But I digress, life is good.

In the midst of my paperwork (earlier today), I realized how I’ve never accomplished goals the conventional way. I’ve either been an underdog or a dark horse. So despite my financial woes, I will climb back on the mountain of schoolwork and complex schedules. In truth, I have enjoyed education for as long as I can remember.

However, my mindset has changed: no longer am I holding myself back with half-truths and ill-conceived ambitions. I may teach. I might write. I’ll possibly do neither…but I will succeed.

Bye for now, KS.

 

Leave a Reply

